Press Room
Basic Research
Translational Research
UCLA Pancreas Tissue Bank
Seed Grants
NIH Awards
APA & The Hirshberg Foundation
UCLA Center for Excellence in Pancreatic Diseases
APA & The Hirshberg Foundation

The Hirshberg Foundation has been a longtime supporter of the American Pancreatic Association (APA), a membership organization for physicians and researchers interested in diseases of the exocrine pancreas. The mission of the APA is to foster clinical and basic science research needed to cure diseases of the pancreas. Their annual meeting brings together an international group of scientists and clinicians to identify the best course of treatment and discuss the most up to date research results for pancreatic diseases. To learn more, visit

Each year at the APA's annual meeting, The Hirshberg Awards for Best Abstract in pancreatic cancer research are awarded.

2014 APA Meeting

Overview of the 45th Meeting of the American Pancreatic Assoc.
& the Japanese Pancreas Soc.

Dr. Jaffee Provides an Overview of Immunotherapeutic Approaches in Pancreatic Cancer


Dr. Teresa Brentnall Discusses the Management of Familial Pancreatic Cancer

The 2014 awardees:

Best Clinical Abstract

Presented to: Kennichi Satoh, PhD

Miyagi Cancer Center Research Institute
The Evaluation of Circulating miR-483-3p and miR-21 in Plasma of Pancreatic Ductal Adenocarcinoma Patients

Best Basic Science Abstract

Presented to: Lei Zeng, PhD

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Anti-TGF-beta Antibody Inhibits Regulatory T Cell Pathway And Induces Anti-tumor Effector T Cell Response In a Vaccine-Dependent Manner

The 2013 awardees:

Best Clinical Abstract

Presented to: Noboru Ideno, PhD

Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan
Clinical significance of GNAS mutation for invasive pancreatic carcinoma distinct from/derived from intraductal papillary mucinous neoplasm (IPMN) of the pancreas.

Best Basic Science Abstract

Presented to: Junpei Yamaguchi, MD, PhD

Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School
Loss of TFF2 in Pancreatic Duct Glands (PDG) results in the formation of IPMN suggesting TFF2 may function as a tumor suppressor.

The 2012 awardees:

Best Clinical Abstract

Presented to: Mari Mino-Kenudson, MD

Massachusetts General Hospital
mAb Das-1 Is Specific for High-Risk and Malignant Intraductal Papillary Mucinous Neoplasm (IPMN)

Best Basic Science Abstract

Presented to: Sulagna Banerjee, PhD

University of Michigan
Triptolide Enriches For CD133+ "Stem-Like" Tumor Initiating Cells In Pancreatic Cancer

The 2011 awardees:

Best Clinical Abstract

Presented to: Stefan Fritz, MD

University of Heidelberg
Small Branch-Duct IPMNs – by far Not as Harmless as Supposed

Best Basic Science Abstract

Presented to: Lidong Wang, PhD

University of Michigan
ATDC synergizes with oncogenic Kras to induce invasive pancreatic adenocarcinoma in transgenic mice

The 2010 awardees:

Best Clinical Abstract

Presented to: Gaurav Aggarwal, MBBS

Mayo Clinic
New onset Diabetes in Pancreatic Cancer: A study in the primary care setting

Best Basic Science Abstract

Presented to: Farzad Esni, PhD

University of Pittsburgh
Loss of Hif2a Accelerates the Progression of Kras-Mediated Pancreatic Neoplasia

The 2009 awardees:

Best Clinical Abstract

Presented to: Nameeta Mujumdar, PhD

University of Minnesota
Title: Inhibition of Autophagy Triggers Apoptotic Cell Death in Pancreatic Cancer Cells

Best Basic/Experimental Abstract

Presented to: Toru Furukawa, MD, PhD

Tokyo Women's Medical University
Title: Prognostic Relevance of Morphologic Types of Intraductal Papillary Mucinous Neoplasms of the Pancreas